× HKMBA Mountain Biking Advocacy 香港越野單車協進會

Dragons Back - did I miss something?

5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #3366 by solarider
I am new to HK. I am used to riding in the UK and like riding fast flowing trails.

I logged on here, applied for my permit and since I am living island side, set off for the Dragons Back trail on Sunday morning as a starting point for riding off road in and around HK. Not sure if I missed something?

I parked up near the prison. Started off carrying the bike up steps. Rode for a bit, dismounted to cross streams, rode for a bit, dismounted to cross boulders. And so it went on until I finally had to dismount to descend the long staircase down to Shek O road after a not very long ride, where I actually enjoyed the road climb back to the prison more than the off ride along what I thought was the trail.

I think I found the trail, but on reflection I am not sure. Most of it wasn't rideable. Lots of bike carrying and not much pedaling. Really big boulders, steep steps etc. linked together with very short sections of twisty singletrack.

Does what I have described sound like the Dragons Back? Is the Dragons Back typical of trails over here? In terms of getting a decent 50kms of riding in, where the vast majority is spent riding, is there anywhere better? I have a car, so travelling to the trailhead isn't a problem.

On a similar topic, are there any groups rides out that I can tag along with? Maybe exploring on my own I will continue to miss the good stuff.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 1 month ago #3367 by yeti575