Topic-icon Bike storage in HK

8 years 7 months ago #1014

• Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

• Thank you received:

• Birthdate: Unknown
  • Hi all,

Short introduction;
    I'm a graduating student in the Netherlands (cycling paradise compared to Hongkong), who's been offered the task of designing a recumbent bicycle for the people of Hongkong.
    (a recumbent bicycle is a roadbike, comfortable and fast for those who are unfamiliar with them, also see link below)

Now, as these bikes are normally quite large, and probably allways are an additional bicycle (next to a standard or racing bike), I was wondering how you manage bike storage right now?

I've read (also here on hkmba) that parking bicycles outside (in public places) is illegal and parking in stairways/halls of buildings or parking at car parks is also often illegal. I've heard some people store their bikes in the trunks of their cars. If so; what cars do you have? How do you stuff an ordinary bike in there?

So, if you (would) own several bicycles, how do you store them? Where in house are they put? Do you have any additional tricks for storing them as compact as possible? If you could illustrate this via a photo, I'd really appreciate this!

Please do not refrain from giving (any!) suggestions, or telling me what's most frustrating about your current situation or bikes. Your wish is my command ;)

Your replies may help me design a very practical bicycle; easy and compact to store! The bike would eventually be offered via www.velocityracers.com (Science Park, N.T.)

Thank you very much!
    a Dutch student

PS
    I hope I didn't offend anyone posting this, not living in HK and not being a MTB fanatic. But, your replies may help me a lot!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

8 years 7 months ago #1015

• Thank you received: 8

• Hi,