× On Yer Bike 尋找戰友

Topic-icon New to HK. Looking to ride on August 18 or 19

5 years 5 months ago #2714

• Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

• Thank you received:

• Birthdate: Unknown
  • Hi, i am new to HK and yet to make my first ride. Looking for any suggestions for a first trail or join a group that may be going out on one of those days.

Thanks
    Don

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 5 months ago #2715

• Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder

• Thank you received: 16

• Do you live on Kowloon or HK island, and do you have a preferred type of trail you'd like to ride (long/short, XC/technical, loop/back-and-forth, ferry/MTR/drive/ride to trail)? Ang sometimes rides the Dragon's Back early on Sunday morning. Otherwise, you can join the Cape Riders group which I think does regular rides of that.

I'm not sure I'll have time to ride this weekend, but if I do, will let you know.

5 years 5 months ago #2717

• Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

• Thank you received:

• I am up for most types of rides. Just want to get out on the trail again. It's been about two months since i left the US and have not ridden here yet.
    I prefer XC in a loop with some technical sections but like i said at this point just want to ride. I don't mind taking a ferry or MTR either. We have made other plans for this weekend but if any rides are scheduled i would try to join in.

Thanks for the reply

5 years 5 months ago #2718

• Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder

• Well, as a typhoon is on the way, any ride this weekend is likely to be brutal. Ang and I were one nearly blown to a halt on the Dragon's Back ridgeline, and that was just a "normalish" (albeit somewhat misty and wet) day. On the other hand, the benefit of bad weather is that there are less likely to be hikers on the trail!

The Dragon's Back trail can be ridden as a loop by using the ridge trail. Having said that, the ridge portion is more like AM (with some near-red DH parts), whereas the contour trail is primarily XC.