× Got a Question 疑難解答

relocating from U.S. - could use some advice

7 years 1 month ago #2033 by mingya
I'm relocating to Shekou from U.S. in about 2 months, relieved to find this mtb group and signs that I'll be able to ride while there. Will I have decent enough access via public trans to the best riding or will I need to consider getting a vehicle while there? Is there any decent riding in the Shenzhen/Shekou area? Best advice on getting bikes from US to China? Bring the hardtail 29er or the full sus....which is better suited to the terrain I'll find? Thanks for any and all input.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

7 years 4 weeks ago - 7 years 3 weeks ago #2051 by enzoferrari
Hi Mingya welcome to Shenzhen!
Getting you bike around here should be no problem as there are 'private' taxis that operate in China (as well as the regular ones) and some of these are mini-vans.
I am no expert on the routes and trails around SZ ( I tend to ride near my work in Humen) but would say that either or FS / 29er would do fine, in SZ probably more in the 29er direction as all trails I know of are 80%tarmac-20%dirt road. In Tai Lam people are riding all sorts up to full body armour DH rigs (youtube - tai lam DH).
Next month onwards I am planning to zip over to Tia Lam area a couple of week ends each month after my new FS rig arrives next week :woohoo: . It takes me around an hour from Shekou to get over the Shenzhen bay bridge border and up the hill (taxi-border-taxi) so not to far for some single track fun

6 years 10 months ago #2204 by mingya