× Got a Question 疑難解答

Topic-icon New to HK, Dying to Ride!

5 years 7 months ago #2801

• Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder

• Thank you received:

• Birthdate: Unknown
  • Hi everyone!

I'm new to HK and have just settled along with my family. My bikes (a long travel trail bike and a XC hardtail) are here with me now and like any biking enthusiast I am really itching to ride the trails here. I've seen quite a few videos of singletracks all over HK and I'm really quite excited.

BUT! I have some issues which need addressing and I'm hoping you guys can help out:

Background:
    We live in Sai Wan Ho (HK Island)
    I don't own a car here (I miss my car + roof racks)
    I can ride weekends only

1) Sai Wan Ho - Where is the nearest trail for me? How do I get there?

2) If I were to try trails in Lantau Island, what would be most economical way to get there without having to go via the MTR?

My problem really is 'logistics' related :laugh: Questions like - "How do I get home all covered in mud if I'm so far from home in Sai Wan Ho?" - come to mind.

I need to ride soon because I'm gaining too much weight already (and I'm already overweight) ;) The food here in HK is great. I'd appreciate anything you can share!

Cheers! Ride safe.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 7 months ago #2803

• Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder

• Thank you received: 8

• 1) For HK Island folks, the nearest trail is Dragon's Back, located in the Shek O Country Park.

It is not safe to ride on road in HK, better take the MTR from Sai Wan Ho to either Heng Fa Chuen or Chai Wan station.

2) Lautau Island - Take MTR to Central Pier, then take the ferry

I'm planning for an early morning ride to Dragon's Back this Saturday. I need to be back home by 10am so I'll leave home at 7am, the latest. Pls join me at Heng Fa Chuen MTR.

5 years 7 months ago #2806

• Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder

• Thank you received:

• Wow thanks for the reply and the offer ang!